Trance

The term "trance" which, during the Middle-Ages, meant "to leave, to pass away, to flow out," comes from the Latin, "Transire."
Starting in the fifth century, it often meant fo "pass from life to death," or from one existence to another, similar in meaning to the term "Samadhi" in Hinduism.
Though the expression "to enter into trance" in the sense of a particular psycho-physiological state appeared in the XIV century, the trance state itself has been known to Man from the beginning-less beginning(s).


In the wake of their October 2009 show presented in Montréal at the invitation of the Festival du nouveau cinéma, Belgian pianist-composer Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven and painter-filmmaker Jean Detheux (Belgian also, residing in Montréal) pursue their exploration of the mysterious relationship between music and images with a new concert combining music and video.
After "From Frescobaldi to Pollock, from Rembrandt to Steve Reich" (FNC 2009), they now invest in the exploration of the universe of the trance. Through the incantatory and suspended music of Giacinto Scelsi (Suite #9, "Ttai"), the obsessional rhythmicity of John Adams' Phrygian Gates, and an improvisation, it is the state of listening ("l'écoute" in French) which is questioned, particularly that moment when the field of consciousness collapses due to a hypnotic effect, and when the music-image association carries us "elsewhere," within our self. In the commentary of his piece, Scelsi writes: "This suite must be listened to and played with the greatest inner calm. Agitated persons must abstain!" For him, repetitivity is a means to reaching the very soul of the sound, to reaching a state of quasi mediumistic receptivity of an energy that transcends us. It is worth noting that the sophisticated minimalism of John Adams, through its repetitions, its large developments but also its abrupt ruptures and its sound effervescence ("bouillonnement sonores") bring us to a state similar to Scelsi's music, but by following different paths. Occurring between the two, Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven's improvisation will act as a bridge (aren't "trance" and "transition" also related?), a moment of connectedness to the "here and now," a tie between the written and the fugacious. Jean Detheux's animated images bring to that universe of sound the vertiginous dimension of a visual echo which could be like the filming of an inner world, with its endless subtle and imperceptible fluctuations.

Jean Detheux, painter-filmmaker



Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven, pianist-composer




see an excerpt of "Phrygian Gates"


see an excerpt of "Improvisation 1"

Vimeo

bekijk en Nederlands

Transe
Le terme transe, qui peut aussi s'écrire trance (terme anglais), est de la même famille que le verbe « transir », qui, au Moyen Âge, signifie « partir », « passer », « s'écouler ». Il vient du latin transire.
À partir du ve siècle, il prend souvent le sens de « passer de vie à trépas », comme le terme samadhi est parfois utilisé dans l'hindouisme.
Bien que l'expression « entrer en transe » au sens d'un état psycho-physiologique particulier soit apparue au xive siècle, l'état de transe est connu de l'Homme depuis plus longtemps.


Dans la continuité de leur spectacle proposé dans le cadre du Festival du Nouveau Cinéma en octobre 2009 et à la Chapelle de l'Université de Montréal le 18 octobre 2010, le peintre-cinéaste belge (résidant à Montreal) Jean Detheux et le pianiste belge Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven poursuivent leur trajectoire commune avec ce nouveau concert-projection.
Après avoir exploré de multiples manières leur relation image-musique - "De Frescobaldi à Pollock, de Rembrandt à Steve Reich" comme l'annonçait leur précédent projet - ils investissent à présent l'univers de la transe. A travers la musique incantatoire et suspendue de Giacinto Scelsi (suite n°9, Ttai), la rythmicité obsessionnelle du Phrygian Gates de John Adams et une improvisation, c'est l'état d'écoute qui est mis en question, particulièrement ce moment où le champ de la conscience bascule par un effet hypnotique, et où la musique associée à l'image nous transporte ailleurs, à l'intérieur de nous-mêmes..Scelsi écrit en exergue de sa pièce: "Cette suite doit être écoutée et jouée avec le plus grand calme intérieur. Les agités s'abstiennent!". Pour lui, la répétitivité est une manière d'atteindre l'âme du son, de se placer peu à peu dans un état de réceptivité quasi médiumique à une énergie qui nous transcende. Il est troublant de constater que le minimalisme sophistiqué de John Adams, à travers ses répétitions, ses grands développements mais aussi ses ruptures brusques et ses bouillonnement sonores, nous plonge dans le même état mais en empruntant des chemins différents. Entre les deux, l'improvisation de Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven sera comme un pont, un moment de connexion à l'instant présent, un lien entre l'écrit et le fugitif, une danse sur le fil du temps. Les images animées de Jean Detheux confèrent à cet univers sonore la dimension vertigineuse d'un écho visuel qui serait comme la photographie d'un monde intérieur et de ses subtiles et imperceptibles fluctuations.

Jean Detheux, peintre-cinéaste



Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven, piano




Voir un extrait de "Phrygian Gates"


Voir un extrait d''improvisation 1"

Vimeo

bekjik en Nederlands